The Power of the Network

I’m realizing how powerful and influential my network is in my professional growth and development.  I was recently reading a post by Michael Forder (a former UMW classmate) about how he will no longer “Google It.”  It’s awesome that you can tweet out a question or problem, and receive feedback from real people with experience that are in similar situations.  The feedback from Twitter is much more valuable than a Google search in so many ways.

One of the latest developments in my Personal Learning Network is a brand-new chat.  I’m extremely pleased that two excellent folks, Amber Teamann and Cathy Brophy, created a Technology Integrator chat (#tichat on Thursdays at 8pm EST).  With my new role at an ITRT, I know I will need the support of my network even more than in the past.  There have only been two chats, but I have gained so much knowledge about what it takes to be a successful leader in Instructional Technology Integration.  It’s nice knowing that there are other people in the same boat dealing with similar challenges.  I look forward to continuing to learn from them about how they’ve been successful and also problems they face.  It’s a passionate group of educators with a ton of wisdom to share!  Please join us on Thursday nights at 8pm EST to talk tech integration!

Leave a Reply

