Summer Learnin’….have me a blast

As we are counting down the final days of school for this year, my mind has been racing with anticipation of what I’ll fill my summer days doing.  I’m looking forward to spending extra time with my one-year-old daughter, heading to the beach for a week, hopefully lots of pool time, early morning walks, reading, etc.

Looking forward to spending lots of time with this cutie pie.

Looking forward to spending lots of time with this cutie pie.

But a big part of my summer is continuing my professional learning and gearing up for a new school year.  Here are a few things on my summer learning list.

Conferences

VSTE Googlepalooza

I’ll be heading to Middletown, VA with a few ITRTs to attend VSTE’s Googlepalooza.  Looks like there will be quite a few sessions to learn more about Google Apps for Education!

ISTE 2015

I am beyond excited to attend my first ever ISTE Conference!  I’ve never been to a national conference, so I think this will be quite the experience.  I’m looking forward to lots of learning, connecting and fun in Philly!

ISTE2015logo

Classes

Primarily Virginia: Emancipation and Reconstruction

This institute is an online learning experience.  Here’s more information from the course description:

This advanced course is a new opportunity for educators to collaborate with other teachers from across Virginia on using the resources from the Virginia Historical Society and the Library of Congress to enrich student learning.

Each module is lead by a different professor that is considered an expert on the given topic during Emancipation and Reconstruction.  At the end of the course, there’s an optional onsite session at the Virginia Historical Society in Richmond where we get to meet each other and take a  behind-the-scenes tour.

VAhistorical society

Benchmark Literacy Writer’s Workshop Training

I’ll be attending a district-wide training on Benchmark Literacy, which is the literacy program our county adopted last year.  We’re are adding on a Writer’s Workshop portion this year.

Books

The Fireproof Teacher by John Spencer

Work-life balance is extremely important for me.  However, it’s often difficult as a teacher to maintain a healthy work-life balance.  As I’m heading back to the classroom next year, and now with a daughter, I want to avoid burning myself out.  I recently discovered the awesome podcast Classroom Questions hosted by AJ Juliani and John Spencer.  One of my favorite episodes was “Is it possible for teachers to work a 40-hour workweek?”  Honestly, I thought the answer was absolutely without a doubt an emphatic “NO,” but after listening to John and AJ I think it may be possible.  One of the recommended resources listed was The Fireproof Teacher by John.  I’m hoping this book will give me some practical tips to keep a long, slow burn and not fizzle out.

the fireproof teacher

I love the time to recharge and renew over the summer.  It’s a great opportunity to grow as a teacher and come back refreshed with new ideas.

What’s on your summer learning list?  I’d love to hear what you have planned!

Leave a Reply

